Atlanta DUI Attorney
Although many people in Atlanta and the state of Georgia are charged with DUI ever year, this somewhat commonplace offense is associated with an extremely serious set of consequences. From jail time to license loss, a DUI—and the stigma that goes with it—will remain on your record in our state for the rest of your life.
After a DUI arrest, you are probably overwhelmed and may be wondering what to do next. Here is a short list of questions that our clients frequently ask:
How do I save my drivers license?
In the state of Georgia, you only have 10 days from the date of your arrest to file a license suspension letter with the Department of Driver Services. If you do not do so, you may be subject to an administrative suspension of your drivers license for up to one year. We are happy to mail the letter on your behalf and can draft it with your assistance over the phone. Call us anytime, 24 hours a day.
Will I go to jail?
Depending on the circumstances of your case, you may have to serve time behind bars if you are found guilty of DUI. Second or subsequent offenders are subject to more jail time; however, even a first offense DUI conviction could result in incarceration. The best way to avoid any jail time is to fight aggressively against your DUI charges.
What should I do first?
The first thing you should do following a DUI arrest is contact an experienced and reputable DUI defense attorney. Hiring an attorney who knows the law and how to defend these complicated cases will increase your chances of achieving a favorable outcome in your case.
The Aggressive Defense You Need
If you or a loved one has been arrested and charged with DUI, Kohn & Yager Attorneys at Law can help. We have successfully defended thousands of clients and are ready to get to work for you. Our phone lines are always open, or you can submit an online case review.